There was a dispute again about Obstructing the Field at Lord’s. (Photo-Philip Brown/Getty Images)
After three years in Lord’s, the ghost of obstructing the field (obstructing the field) came out once again. In the second ODI against England’s women’s team, Team India accused the host team opener Tami Buomont of obstructing the field. The umpire rejected this charge. This match disrupted by rain has won the three-match series 1-1 by winning by 8 wickets. Earlier, there was a dispute against England in the year 2022 over Obstructing the Field, in which Deepti Sharma had run out Charlie Dean. England had to face defeat in that match.
What happened?
The controversy occurred in the 5th over of England’s innings during the second ODI at Lord’s. Tammy Buomont played a shot in the leg lid off India’s all -rounder Deepti Sharma. Team India’s fielder Jemima Rodrigues caught the ball by diving and thrown towards wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. Buomont decided not to take a single and was returning to the crease.
During this time, he put his left leg in the crease and was seen trying to kick the ball with the right leg, but the ball did not hit his pad, but there was no doubt that he had tried to take the ball away before reaching Ghosh.
Third umpire gave this decision
Wicketkeepers Richa Ghosh and Jemima appealed on this. He said that Buumont deliberately kicks the ball. On this, the umpire sent this appeal to the third umpire. The replay showed that Buumont had put one leg inside the crease. The second was going in, during this time the ball probably got from the pad. On this, the third umpire gave him a knot out. In this match against England, Team India lost by 8 wickets.
A similar case took place in the ODI between India and England in the year 2022. When Deepti Sharma runs out of England’s Charlie Dean out at Non Striker &. Because of this, England had to face defeat. This incident was in the discussion for a long time.
What is the rules of Obstructing the Field?
In this match, it was claimed that one leg of Tammy Beomont had come inside the crease, so he was given a knot. However, according to the rule, it does not matter that the batsman’s leg is inside the crease or outside. If he deliberately kicks the ball, he can be given out.
According to Law 37, any batsman can be out for ‘obstructing the field’. If he has done this intentionally. According to Rule 37.2, the batsman can be relieved under only two circumstances-to avoid and save his wicket. According to Rule 37.4, if the batsman touches the ball from the bat or body without the permission of the fielder, then it can be out under the obstructing the field.
Such incident took place in WTC finals also
A similar incident took place in the title match of the World Test Championship (WTC) 2025 played at Lord’s itself. South Africa’s middle-order batsman David Bedingham narrowly survived during the final match between Australia and South Africa.
Australia also appealed for a similar dismissal when the ball was stuck in his pad flap and he dropped the ball out and dropped down so that Alex Carry could not take a catch. However, in that case it seemed that the umpires were convinced that the ball had been dead. Bedingham had said that I was very nervous.