Umpire and DRS Team India did not get together on appeal against Joe RootImage Credit Source: PTI
Sunday 13 July was the fourth day of the Lord’s Test, in which England was batting in its second innings. From the first over of the day, Mohammad Siraj had put the English batsmen in trouble and was constantly piercing them. During this time he also got two wickets, while many times LBW’s decisions also went against him. But there was a decision in the second session, which surprised not only Siraj and Team India, but also everyone.
All this happened when Siraj was bowling in the 38th over of England’s innings. Joe Root tried to play the third ball of his over but failed. The ball hit the pad and the Indian team made a strong appeal. Siraj started celebrating the wicket before the appeal. But Australian umpire Paul Rifle gave it a knot out. In such a situation, captain Shubman Gill took the help of DRS and when the first replay was seen, the Indian team and the faces of the fans were happy because the ball was hitting the pad in the stump line.
But everything changed from here. Impact showed in the stump line but when the projection of DRS came ahead of him, he disappointed the Indian team. Actually it was seen that the ball was looking at the leg stump but it was looking on the outskirts and in such a situation it was declared an umpire call. Now the umpire Rifle gave a knot out verdict, so his decision remained intact. Seeing this, Siraj angrily shook his hand and captain Gill could not hide his disappointment.
During this time, Sunil Gavaskar, who is doing commentary, was surprised to see all this. He rejected this decision outright and said- ‘This cannot happen.’ Gavaskar argued that the projection of DRS was not correct as the ball did not see so much from the stump. He said that when it is on the line of the stump of Impact, how can the ball go out so much. However, the route did not last long after this and Washington was bowled by Sundar.